

## MAYOR AND COUNCIL COMMUNICATION

DATE: 3/19/2013

**REGULAR** 

ITEM #: 13

**AGENDA ITEM**: Re-designation of a Planning Commission Members

SUBMITTED BY: Kyle Klatt, Planning Director

**THROUGH:** Dean A. Zuleger, City Administrator

**REVIEWED BY:** Adam Bell, City Clerk

Nick Johnson, City Planner

### **SUMMARY AND ACTION REQUESTED:**

On Wednesday, March 13, Planning Commissioner Nadine Obermueller made a formal request to be re-designated as an Alternate Member of the Planning Commission. Commissioner Obermueller's formal request to be re-designated as an Alternate Member is attached. On Saturday, March 16, Planning Commission Member Greg Hall made a formal request to resign from the Lake Elmo Planning Commission. Commission Member Hall's formal request to resign is attached. The result of such actions requires the City Council to designate two new Full-Voting Members of the Planning Commission. It is recommended that the City Council designate the two available Alternate Members, Mr. Rolf Larson or Mr. Jay Morreale.

#### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

The Planning Commission currently has seven Full-Voting Members and two Alternate Members, making a full roster of nine Planning Commissioners. Commissioner Obermueller is currently in the second year of her first term. Whichever Alternate Member fills her position would finish out the remainder of her term and still be eligible for two additional three-year terms.

#### **STAFF REPORT**:

As it is the Mayor's purview, with Council affirmation, to appoint Planning Commission members, it is appropriate for the City Council to affirm the administrative action re-designating Commissioner Obermueller as an Alternate Member. To fill the vacant Full-Voting Member slots, the Council must appoint the two current Alternate Members. The Alternate Members include Mr. Rolf Larson and Mr. Jay Morreale. Both of the Alternate Members were appointed to the Planning Commission on the same date (12/4/12).

#### **RECCOMENDATION:**

Staff recommends that the City Council affirm the administrative action with the following motion:

"Move to affirm the re-designation of Nadine Obermueller, as an Alternate Member of the Planning Commission and to accept the resignation of Greg Hall"; and

"Move to appoint Mr. Rolf Larson as a Full-Voting Member of the Planning Commission to replace Nadine Obermueller, and to appoint Mr. Jay Morreale as a Full-Voting Member of the Planning Commission to replace Greg Hall."

## **ATTACHMENTS**:

- 1. Planning Commissioner Nadine Obermueller's request for Alternate Member status
- 2. Planning Commission Member Greg Hall's request for resignation

# **SUGGESTED ORDER OF BUSINESS**:

-	Introduction of Item	Planning Director
-	Report/Presentation	Planning Director
-	Questions from Council to Staff	Mayor Facilitates
-	Public Input, if Appropriate	Mayor Facilitates
-	Call for Motion	Mayor & City Council
-	Discussion	Mayor & City Council
-	Action on Motion	Mayor Facilitates